Who Am I? A Student With OCD & Anxiety

student-with-ocd-perfectionism
A few months ago I had the opportunity to write a personal essay for the website
OC87 Recovery Diaries. The website was created as an outgrowth of a documentary (OC87: The Obsessive Compulsive, Major Depression, Bipolar, Asperger’s Movie), and features essays, films, art, and more all about mental health.

I enjoyed starting writing my story while I was still in residential treatment, and then continuing to work on it as I came home and adjusted back to school. It is a story about OCD, perfectionism, and even Alice in Wonderland. It took many hours of hard work to get to the final piece, so I hope you enjoy it!

Who Am I? A Student With OCD & Anxiety

~Morgan

student-with-ocd-monster

6 thoughts on “Who Am I? A Student With OCD & Anxiety

  1. Wow.
    You should be so incredibly proud of yourself for sharing your story so openly this way. You are so incredibly brave: genuinely so (I really hope and wish that I don’t sound patronising in any way because I definitely do recognise how hard it is to be so open and brave). I totally recognise how your OCD would then take hold of the uncertainty of the response to sharing your story, but I have been so inspired, even without actually having OCD myself. I do relate to your obsessive tendencies as these are linked to Anorexia Nervosa and of course anxiety of which I have.

    I watched the video also and it was just so brilliant. It was so wonderfully informative, so wonderfully important and I’m just so proud of you!
    I’m repeating myself now but just honestly, you are doing so well, keep battling through your treatment, keep seeking and accepting help and each day this will slowly diminish and you will be able to live your life again! Xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you very much for your kind words. I share my story because I find it helpful to express myself, but more so because I want to help others. It means a lot to receive such positive feedback.
      I will definitely keep battling on because I’ve made progress which tells me I can keep making progress! I wish you the best of luck in your recovery as well.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

